Xmas Madness MTB Race

I was minding my own business, shopping for new uni tires when I ran into our favorite race organizer, Heather Rizzi.

“You coming out to the race tomorrow?” she asked.
“Um… it’s snowing pretty hard. You’re not really going to have the race. Are you?” says I.
“Of course. Lots of people have signed up,” says Heather.

I’ve always been a sucker for peer pressure. Jumping off a bridge? Count me in.

As soon as I got back home, I called Brad and Roland to see if they would join me.  Steve was supposed to be out of town.  Brad was feeling under the weather and Roland was a definite maybe.

At 9am on Sunday the 21st of December, 7 mountain bikers and only 1 unicycle (me), lined up for a race around the snow covered pond in Schenectady’s Central Park.

Dave Krause

Photo By: Dave Krause

What a blast! The snow was flying and the temps were dropping (around 18F). The uni handled surprisingly well through the snow and ice. I only had to dismount twice to get through some slush and didn’t have a single UPD. The two-wheelers were impressed.

For such a cold and snowy day, we had some enthusiastic spectators. A group of Turkish guys came up from NYC to watch their friend race.  They were blasting some great music and dancing up a storm.

My wife shot some video with our little point and shoot. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

