Uni all set, after much fretting

Well, I was going to take my KH24 (24″ wheel), but then most of the team said there were taking their 29ers.  Damn, that means taking the geared wheel off my 29erand replacing it with the ungeared wheel.  (The geared uni, “guni”, is great for road riding, but not for gnarly trails).  Then I switched the dual-hole cranks from the geared wheel (these cranks enable two pedal positions, but I only have one pair) over to that ungeared 29er.  After some fretting, I did all the work and built a beautiful, ungeared KH29.

Then I got to thinking how much I like the fat, juicy tire of the smaller wheel in many hard trail situations, and today, I finally decided to switch to taking my KH24, which means I want to put the dual-hole cranks on that cycle.  Not that big of a deal, until the pedal wouldn’t come off the KH24’s single-hole cranks, which prevented the crank-puller tool from working, so basicallly I couldn’t get the old cranks off the KH24 and therefore couldn’t put dual-hole cranks on.

KH24 ready to go, surrounded by a few tools and bits of cycles.

KH24 ready to go, surrounded by a few tools and bits of cycles.

Got that so far?

I made an emergency run to the LBS (Local Bike Shop), “The Downtube Cyclery”, in Albany. They said they’d give it a quick try, but if they couldn’t get it, I’d have to leave it.  With two tools, including a spanner, (which I don’t have), two burly bike shop dudes freed up the pedal.  They said no charge, but I was so happy I threw them some cash anyway.

I raced home and finished swapping the cranks and pedals.  Whew.  Now for a quick test ride.

– steveyo

6 responses to “Uni all set, after much fretting

  1. you should stick that guni hub in the muni 🙂

  2. We do have a lot of lingo, don’t we. 😉

  3. You mean like “29er”, “dual-hole cranks”, and such?

  4. I’d want a spare muni along if mine was guni’ed up. Riding in the jungle I just want the simplest setup possible.

  5. “The geared uni, ‘guni’, is great for road riding, but not for gnarly trails”

    I actually prefer riding off-road with my guni. Don’t particularly care to ride it with street traffic. I love that mountain bike like speed you can get with the guni on the trails.

    And Corbin already talked me into bringing my guni to Panama.

  6. “I love that mountain bike like speed you can get with the guni on the trails.”

    You go, boy!

Leave a Reply

